Upcoming - Internationale Photoszene

Events in 2022


***************************************************************

Tuesday, August 30, 2022, 7 p.m.
Rise or Fall?
Earth Rise - a photo, its effect and the question of the human being
with Susanne Schmetkamp, Dr. Miriam Szwast and Damian Zimmermann
Location: Filmforum at Museum Ludwig

Which pictures does climate change need? As part of the Photoszene Festival 2021, this question was discussed on a panel with various actors. The International Photoscene Cologne will continue to address this essential topic in the future and is therefore very pleased to be invited to another discussion as part of the lecture series KunstBewusst of the Friends of the Wallraf-Richartz-Museum and Museum Ludwig e.v..
The first photographs that showed the earth as a sensitive blue sphere in black space shaped the environmental movement of the 1970s and 80s. Damian Zimmermann, journalist, photographer and photo curator, introduces the circumstances of the creation and dissemination of "Earth Rise," a historical-revolutionary visual experience. The philosopher Susanne Schmetkamp talks about such aesthetic experiences as a possibility for a change of perspective, about attention, amazement and panic. Because the question is always: What images does man need to cope with the climate crisis? Or more precisely: What feelings does man need to cope with it, and how can images help?

- Since fall 2009, philosopher Susanne Schmetkamp has been leading the research project "Aesthetics and Ethics of Attention" at the University of Fribourg, financed by the PRIMA funding program of the Swiss National Science Foundation. In this five-year project, she and her team are investigating different modes and functions of attention, primarily from philosophical-aesthetic and ethical perspectives.

- Dr. Miriam Szwast has been curator of the Photographic Collection at Museum Ludwig, Cologne, since 2013. She also holds the title of Ecology Curator, ensuring, among other things, a "greener" museum.

- Damian Zimmermann lives and works as a journalist, art critic, photographer, curator and festival maker in Cologne. Since 2014, he has been a shareholder of the International Photoscene Cologne, where he is responsible for the reorientation of the photo festival and the magazine L. Fritz, among other things.

Admission is free for members. Guests pay 4€ (reduced 2€). Pre-registration is currently not necessary!



***************************************************************


Thursday - Saturday, October 20 - 22, 2022
We Do/Are Photography
Dialogues | ThinkTank | Symposium 
Kunsthafen and Stadtarchiv, Cologne

In preparation for the next Photoszene Festival in May 2023, the International Photoscene Cologne is organizing the multi-day event program We Do/Are Photography consisting of impulses, dialogues, series of talks on current thematic fields of photography and the symposium "The Gesture of Showing - Photo Albums in the Archive".

In 2022, the thematic fields of global climate catastrophe, debates on postcolonialism, and discourses on body politics exemplify an urgent analysis of sociopolitical processes in photography. At the same time, it is the medium itself that is undergoing permanent change due to progressive technological developments - and these are directly thematized and reflected upon within artistic debates. After all, photography as a storage medium is able to record a large part of our history - this entails an ongoing scientific and artistic interest in an examination of photographic archives. 

Reflecting on this significance of photography in the temporal planes of yesterday, now, and the future, the International Photoscene Cologne invites scholars, curators, and artists whose working methods, subject matter, and/or publications have caught our attention in recent years in the specific thematic fields to engage in dialogues in the sense of an open think tank. The Kunsthafen becomes a temporary place of photography, where international speakers are invited to enter into dialogue and to illuminate the medium of photography in its multifaceted diversity. 

The event program We Do/Are Photography is sponsored by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

The program:
Thursday, October 20
We celebrate the release of our Photoszene magazine L.Fritz under the title "The Medium and Us: Photography in Progress" and welcome lecturers from universities in North Rhine-Westphalia, as well as the Netherlands and Switzerland on the podium.
Friday, October 21 
We will discuss with invited guests under "The World and Us: Photography and Climate Change" and "The Body and Us: Body Politics" pressing social issues that have become permanent subjects in photographic practice.
Saturday, October 22
The symposium on Artist Meets Archive #3 will take place at the Stadtarchiv, dedicated to photo albums in the archive.

***************************************************************

Saturday, October 22, 2022, 9:30 a.m.-6 p.m.
The Gesture of Showing - Photo Albums in the Archive
Stadtarchiv, Eifelwall 5, 50674 Cologne, Germany

The symposium on Artist Meets Archive #3 has taken the gesture of showing as its theme and, in addition to the overarching theme of the archive, is devoted in particular to the question of a significance of photo albums for photographic archives. Starting with the materiality of a photo album and its differentiation from other media, its private or public function and its cultural practice; to the exploration of its possible limits, its forms of media staging and the practices of an artistic use; to questions of its use in archives and presentation in museums, its reprocessing, restoration, and digitization - the photo album raises different modes of use and multifaceted spaces of possibility, which will be approached from a scholarly and photo-historical perspective as well as from an artistic perspective, taking a look at archival gestures of showing.

The symposium takes place in cooperation with the DGPh Section History and Archives and the Rheinisches Bildarchiv as part of the program Artist Meets Archive #3 of the International Photoscene Cologne. It is supported by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, the Kunststiftung NRW and the City of Cologne.


*****************Past Events*****************

Saturday, May 21, 2022, 4:30 - 5:30 p.m.
Artist Meets Archive #3: Lecture: Lilly Lulay
Location: Rheinisches Bildarchiv Cologne
Age group: 14-25 years

Frankfurt and Brussels-based artist Lilly Lulay (*1985) uses her own and others' private photographs as "raw material" for her projects, which she reassembles into collages, videos, and installations in order to critically question the two-dimensional, purely visual perception of photographs. The artist focuses her presentation on the use of social media or how it influences the behavior of the photographer. Lilly Lulay is an invited artist to the 'Artist Meets Archive' program of the International Photoscene and will be involved in the first AMA jr. edition together with the Rheinisches Bildarchiv and the Gymnasial- und Stiftungsfonds together with pupils of the Gesamtschule Holweide.

***************************************************************

Friday 3 June 2022, 7 pm
The photo book quartet
Location: Studio of the Fotoakademie-Koeln

The Photo Book Quartet cordially invites you to the upcoming event - Dr. Anja Schürmann (Kulturwissenschaftliches Institut Essen), Frederic Lezmi (The PhotoBookMuseum), Oliver Rausch (Fotoakademie-Koeln) and Frank Dürrach (Fotoakademie-Koeln) will again show and discuss four exciting photo books:

Jonas Bendiksen: The Book of Veles
Florian Bachmeier: In Limbo
Federico Estol: Héroes del Brillo
Bieke Depoorter: Agata

Photography is considered the leading medium of our time. Yet there is hardly a culture of discussion and debate ABOUT photography, as is taken for granted in literature, music, film, or theater. Based on the "Literary Quartet", the speakers discuss four photo books live and in front of an audience, sometimes lovingly and benevolently, sometimes meanly and viciously.


***************************************************************

Friday, June 10, 2022, 5 p.m.
Artist Meets Archive #3: 
Remembering and Narrating in the Archive - Workshop Talk and Artist Talk with Lebohang Kganye.
Location: BAUSTELLE, Open Space of the Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum Kulturen der Welt.

As part of the Artist Meets Archive residency program of the International Photoscene Cologne, the South African artist Lebohang Kganye will be the first of the participating AMA artists to come to Cologne for a research residency and will be a guest at the Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum. We will use this prelude for a workshop discussion to get to know them and their work better and, at the same time, to introduce the sensitive image holdings of the RJM's Historical Photo Archive. 
In the first part, Lucia Halder (Head of the Historical Photo Archive at the RJM) will offer exclusive insights into the archive, which is currently not located in the Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum but in an external interim depot.
In the second part, Lebohang Kganye will talk about her artistic work with private and public archives in an artist talk moderated by Inga Schneider (Photoszene Köln). Afterwards questions can be asked. The evening will end with a drink together. 

The event is in English. Participation is free of charge, due to limited places, registration is requested: info@photoszene.de Please note the relevant security measures regarding COVID-19, which can be found on the museum website.

***************************************************************

Friday, June 17, 2022, 6 p.m.
Artist Meets Archive #3: 
Artist Talk with Lebohang Kganye and Pablo Lerma, moderated by Daria Tuminas.
Location: Forum for Photography, Cologne 

As part of the Artist Meets Archive program of the International Photoscene Cologne, the two AMA artists Lebohang Kganye (AMA#3 artist at the Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum) and Pablo Lerma (AMA#3 artist at the NS-Dokumentationszentrum) will talk about artistic strategies in dealing with private histories in public archives at a joint Artist Talk. The conversation will be moderated by curator Daria Tuminas (FOTODOK, Utrecht, NL), who will present the 2021 exhibition "Pass It On. Private Stories, Public Histories" and an accompanying publication, both of which presented work by Kganye and Lerma.  On this evening at the Forum for Photography, they address the question of artistic approaches to an archive, how to deal with sensitive images and histories, and the appropriate forms of presentation. 

Freelance writer and curator of the FOTODOK Festival Daria Tuminas graduated with a Master's degree in Folklore and Mythology in St. Petersburg and a Master's degree in Film and Photography at Leiden University. She writes regularly for various media outlets dealing with photography, including FOAM Magazine, The Photobook Review, and many others. From 2017 to December 2019, Tuminas worked as the director of the Unseen Book Market and the Unseen Dummy Awards at Unseen Amsterdam. Exhibitions she curated for the FOTODOK Festival included "Pass It On. Private Stories, Public Histories" (November 27, 2020 - February 28, 2021). Drawing on (family) archives, the exhibition presented works by Lebohang Kganye and Pablo Lerma, among others. 

www.dariatuminas.com
https://www.fotodok.org

The event is held in English. Participation is free of charge. Due to limited places, registration is requested: info@photoszene.de

Veranstaltungen in 2022


***************************************************************

Dienstag, 30. August 2022, 19 Uhr
Aufgang oder Untergang?
Earth Rise – ein Foto, seine Wirkung und die Frage nach dem Mensch
mit Susanne Schmetkamp, Dr. Miriam Szwast und Damian Zimmermann

Ort: Filmforum im Museum Ludwig

Welche Bilder braucht der Klimawandel? Im Rahmen des Photoszene-Festivals 2021 wurde diese Frage auf einem Podium mit verschiedenen Akteuren diskutiert. Die Internationale Photoszene Köln wird sich auch in Zukunft mit diesem wesentlichen Thema auseinandersetzen und freut sich daher sehr über die Einladung zu einer weiteren Diskussion im Rahmen der Vortragsreihe KunstBewusst der Freunde des Wallraf-Richartz-Museum und des Museum Ludwig e.v..
Die ersten Fotografien, die die Erde als sensible blaue Kugel im schwarzen Weltall zeigten, prägten die Umweltbewegung der 1970er und 80er Jahre. Damian Zimmermann, Journalist, Fotograf und Fotokurator, führt ein in die Umstände der Entstehung und Verbreitung von „Earth Rise“, einer historisch-revolutionären Seherfahrung. Die Philosophin Susanne Schmetkamp spricht über solche ästhetischen Erfahrungen als Möglichkeit zum Perspektivwechsel, über Aufmerksamkeit, Staunen und Panik. Denn die Frage lautet immer wieder: Welche Bilder braucht der Mensch, um die Klimakrise zu bewältigen? Oder genauer: Welche Gefühle braucht der Mensch zu ihrer Bewältigung und wie können Bilder dabei helfen?

• Die Philosophin Susanne Schmetkamp leitet seit Herbst 2009 das Forschungsprojekt „Aesthetics and Ethics of Attention“ an der Universität Fribourg, finanziert durch das PRIMA-Förderungsprogramm des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds. In dem fünfjährigen Projekt untersucht sie mit ihrem Team verschiedene Modi und Funktionen von Aufmerksamkeit, vor allem aus philosophie-ästhetischer und ethischer Perspektive.

• Dr. Miriam Szwast ist seit 2013 Kuratorin der Fotografischen Sammlung am Museum Ludwig, Köln. Zudem trägt sie den Titel der Ökologiekuratorin  und sorgt damit u.a.für ein „grüneres“ Museum.

• Damian Zimmermann lebt und arbeitet als Journalist, Kunstkritiker, Fotograf, Kurator und Festivalmacher in Köln. Seit 2014 ist er Gesellschafter der Internationalen Photoszene Köln und dort u.a. für die Neuausrichtung des Fotofestivals und das Magazin L. Fritz zuständig.

Der Eintritt ist für Mitglieder kostenfrei. Gäste zahlen 4€ (Ermäßigt 2€). Eine Voranmeldung ist zurzeit nicht notwendig!



***************************************************************


Donnerstag - Samstag, 20. - 22. Oktober 2022
We Do/Are Photography
Dialoge | ThinkTank | Symposium 
Kunsthafen und Stadtarchiv, Köln

In Vorbereitung auf das nächste Photoszene-Festival im Mai 2023 veranstaltet die Internationale Photoszene Köln das mehrtägige Veranstaltungsprogramm We Do/Are Photography aus Impulsen, Dialogen, Gesprächsreihen zu aktuellen Themenfeldern der Fotografie und dem Symposium „Die Geste des Zeigens – Fotoalben im Archiv“.

Im Jahr 2022 zeigen sich die Themenfelder zur globalen Klimakatastrophe, Debatten zum Postkolonialismus und Diskurse zu Body-Politics beispielhaft für eine drängende Analyse gesellschaftspolitischer Prozesse in der Fotografie. Gleichzeitig ist es das Medium selbst, das durch fortschreitende technologische Entwicklungen in permanenter Veränderung begriffen ist – und diese unmittelbar innerhalb künstlerischer Auseinandersetzungen thematisiert und reflektiert werden. Schließlich vermag die Fotografie als Speichermedium einen Großteil unserer Geschichte aufzuzeichnen – dies zieht ein anhaltendes wissenschaftliches und künstlerisches Interesse an einer Auseinandersetzung mit fotografischen Archiven nach sich. 

In der Reflektion dieser Bedeutung der Fotografie in den Zeitebenen des Gestern, des Jetzt und der Zukunft lädt die Internationale Photoszene Köln im Sinne eines offenen Think Tanks Wissenschaftler:innen, Kurator:innen und Künstler:innen zu Dialogen ein, deren Arbeitsweisen, Themensetzungen und/oder Veröffentlichungen uns in den letzten Jahren in den spezifischen Themenfeldern aufgefallen sind. Der Kunsthafen wird zu einem temporären Ort der Fotografie, an dem Internationale Referent:innen eingeladen sind, in den Dialog zu treten und das Medium Fotografie in seiner Facettenvielfalt zu beleuchten. 

Das Veranstaltungsprogramm We Do/Are Photography wird gefördert durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Das Programm:
Donnerstags, den 20. Oktober 
feiern wir unter dem Titel „The Medium and Us: Photography in Progress“ den Release unseres Photoszene-Magazins L.Fritz und begrüßen Lehrende von Hochschulen aus NRW, sowie den Niederlanden und der Schweiz auf dem Podium.
Freitags, den 21. Oktober 
diskutieren wir mit geladenen Gästen unter „The World and Us: Photography and Climate Change“ und „The Body and Us: Body Politics“ drängende gesellschaftliche Fragen, die sich in der fotografischen Praxis zu festen Sujets entwickelt haben.
Samstags, den 22. Oktober 
findet dann das Symposium zu Artist Meets Archive #3 im Stadtarchiv statt, das sich den Fotoalben im Archiv widmet.

***************************************************************

Samstag, 22. Oktober 2022, 9.30-18 Uhr
Die Geste des Zeigens – Fotoalben im Archiv
Stadtarchiv, Eifelwall 5, 50674 Köln

Das Symposium zu Artist Meets Archive #3 hat sich die Geste des Zeigens zum Thema gesetzt und widmet sich neben dem übergeordneten Thema des Archivs insbesondere der Frage nach einer Bedeutung von Fotoalben für fotografische Archive. Angefangen bei der Materialität eines Fotoalbums und seiner Abgrenzung zu anderen Medien, seiner privaten oder öffentlichen Funktion und seiner kulturellen Praxis; über die Auslotung seiner möglichen Grenzen, seiner medialen Inszenierungsformen und den Praktiken eines künstlerischen Gebrauchs; bis hin zu Fragen seiner Verwendung in Archiven und Präsentation in Museen, seiner Aufarbeitung, Restaurierung und Digitalisierung – das Fotoalbum wirft unterschiedliche Gebrauchsweisen und vielseitige Möglichkeitsräume auf, denen sich sowohl aus wissenschaftlicher und fotohistorischer Perspektive als auch aus künstlerischer Perspektive genähert wird und die archivarischen Gesten des Zeigens in den Blick nimmt.

Das Symposium findet in Kooperation mit der DGPh Sektion Geschichte und Archive und dem Rheinischen Bildarchiv im Rahmen des Programms Artist Meets Archive #3 der Internationalen Photoszene Köln statt. Es wird gefördert durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, die Kunststiftung NRW und die Stadt Köln.


*****************Vergangene Veranstaltungen *****************


Samstag, 21. Mai 2022, 16.30 - 17.30 Uhr
Artist Meets Archive #3: Lecture: Lilly Lulay
Ort: Rheinisches Bildarchiv Köln
Altersgruppe: 14-25 Jahre

Die in Frankfurt und Brüssel lebende Künstlerin Lilly Lulay (*1985) verwendet für ihre Projekte eigene und fremde Privatfotografien als „Rohmaterial“, das sie zu Collagen, Videos und Installationen neu zusammensetzt, um so die zweidimensionale, rein visuelle Wahrnehmung von Fotografien kritisch zu hinterfragen. Die Künstlerin legt ihren Fokus bei der Präsentation auf den Umgang mit sozialen Medien bzw. wie diese das Verhalten des Fotografen beeinflusst. Lilly Lulay ist eingeladene Künstlerin beim 'Artist Meets Archive'-Programm der Internationalen Photoszene und wird in die erste AMA jr. Ausgabe zusammen mit dem Rheinischen Bildarchiv und dem Gymnasial- und Stiftungsfonds zusammen mit Schüler:innen der Gesamtschule Holweide umsetzen.

***************************************************************

Freitag 3. Juni 2022, 19 Uhr
Das Fotobuchquartett
Ort: Studio der Fotoakademie-Koeln

Das Fotobuchquartett lädt herzlich ein zur kommenden Veranstaltung – Dr. Anja Schürmann (Kulturwissenschaftliches Institut Essen), Frederic Lezmi (The PhotoBookMuseum), Oliver Rausch (Fotoakademie-Koeln) und Frank Dürrach (Fotoakademie-Koeln) zeigen und besprechen wieder vier spannende Fotobücher:

Jonas Bendiksen: The Book of Veles
Florian Bachmeier: In Limbo
Federico Estol: Héroes del Brillo
Bieke Depoorter: Agata

Die Fotografie gilt als Leitmedium unserer Zeit. Doch es gibt kaum eine Diskussions- und Streitkultur ÜBER die Fotografie, wie es in der Literatur, der Musik, dem Film oder dem Theater selbstverständlich ist. Angelehnt an das „Literarische Quartett“ besprechen die Referent*innen live und vor Publikum vier Fotobücher und diskutieren sich mal liebevoll und wohlwollend, mal gemein und bösartig die Köpfe heiß.


***************************************************************

Freitag, 10. Juni 2022, 17 Uhr
Artist Meets Archive #3: 
Erinnern und Erzählen im Archiv – Werkstattgespräch und Artist Talk mit Lebohang Kganye
Ort: BAUSTELLE, Open Space des Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum Kulturen der Welt

Im Rahmen des Artist Meets Archive-Residenzprogramms der Internationalen Photoszene Köln wird die südafrikanische Künstlerin Lebohang Kganye als erste der teilnehmenden AMA-Künstler:innen für einen Rechercheaufenthalt nach Köln kommen und am Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum zu Gast sein. Diesen Auftakt nutzen wir für ein Werkstattgespräch, um sie und ihre Arbeit besser kennenzulernen und gleichzeitig die sensiblen Bildbestände des Historischen Fotoarchivs des RJMs vorzustellen. 
In einem ersten Teil wird Lucia Halder (Leiterin des Historischen Fotoarchives am RJM) exklusive Einblicke in das Archiv bieten, das sich derzeit nicht im Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum sondern in einem externen Interimsdepot befindet.
Im zweiten Teil wird Lebohang Kganye in einem Artist Talk, moderiert von Inga Schneider (Photoszene Köln), von ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit mit privaten und öffentlichen Archiven berichten. Im Anschluss können Fragen gestellt werden. Den Abend lassen wir bei einem gemeinsamen Getränk ausklingen. 

Die Veranstaltung ist englischsprachig. Die Teilnahme ist kostenfrei, wegen begrenzter Plätze, wird um Anmeldung gebeten: info@photoszene.de Bitte beachten Sie die entsprechenden Sicherheitsmaßnahmen in Bezug auf COVID-19, die Sie der Website des Museums entnehmen können: 
https://www.museenkoeln.de/rautenstrauch-joest-museum/


***************************************************************

Freitag, 17. Juni 2022, 18 Uhr
Artist Meets Archive #3: 
Artist Talk mit Lebohang Kganye und Pablo Lerma, moderiert von Daria Tuminas
Ort: Forum für Fotografie, Köln 

Im Rahmen des Artist Meets Archive-Programms der Internationalen Photoszene Köln sprechen die beiden AMA-Künstler:innen Lebohang Kganye (AMA#3-Künstlerin am Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum) und Pablo Lerma (AMA#3-Künstler am NS-Dokumentationszentrum) bei einem gemeinsamen Artist Talk über künstlerische Strategien im Umgang mit privaten Geschichten in öffentlichen Archiven. Moderiert wird das Gespräch von der Kuratorin Daria Tuminas (FOTODOK, Utrecht, NL), die 2021 die Ausstellung  „Pass It On. Private Stories, Public Histories“ und eine dazugehörige Publikation produzierte, die beide Arbeiten von Kganye und Lerma präsentierten.  An diesem Abend im Forum für Fotografie widmen sie sich der Frage nach den künstlerischen Zugängen zu einem Archiv, dem Umgang mit sensiblen Bildern und Geschichten und den entsprechenden Präsentationsformen. 

Die freiberufliche Autorin und Kuratorin des FOTODOK Festivals Daria Tuminas absolvierte einen Master in Volkskunde und Mythologie in St. Petersburg und einen Master in Film und Fotografie an der Universität Leiden. Sie schreibt regelmäßig für verschiedene Medien, die sich mit Fotografie beschäftigen, darunter das FOAM Magazine, The Photobook Review, und viele andere. Von 2017 bis Dezember 2019 arbeitete Tuminas als Leiterin des Unseen Book Markets und des Unseen Dummy Awards bei der Unseen Amsterdam. Zu den Ausstellungen, die sie für das FOTODOK Festival kuratierte, gehörte „Pass It On. Private Stories, Public Histories“ (27. November 2020 - 28. Februar 2021). Ausgehend von (Familien-)Archiven präsentierte die Ausstellung u.a. Werke von Lebohang Kganye und Pablo Lerma. 

www.dariatuminas.com
https://www.fotodok.org

Die Veranstaltung ist englischsprachig. Die Teilnahme ist kostenfrei. Wegen begrenzter Plätze wird um Anmeldung gebeten: info@photoszene.de